Go To: Paris ToursDay Tours from Paris Versailles Tours Bus Tours River Cruises Paris Shuttles Minibus Tours Giverny Tours Mont St Michel Chateaux Tours France LodgingParis Group Travel Auvergne Health SpasContact Us

Spa Finder

The Region of Limousin France Information

Home | Air Ticket | Transfer | Train Pass | Hotel | Cruise | Barge Cruise | River Cruise | Land Tours | All Inclusive | Group | Mini France Tours | Travel Books | Travel Needs

Give them a Gift, a
River Cruise for a Special Occasion!

Avalon Waterways has one of the youngest fleet of ships cruising the waterways of the world
Avalon Waterways
Rooms With a View

Airport Shuttles - ALL
Auto Hire & Limos
Bus Tours Paris
Bus-Minibus Tours
France Day Tours
Chateaux & Tours
France & Regions
Culinary Programs
Cruise Med Small Ship
AMA Waterways
Avalon Cruises
Lueftner Cruises
Swan Hellenic Cruise
Uniworld Cruises
Viking Cruises
Cruise Inquiry
Eiffel Tower Tours
France History
French Phrases
Golf Package UK
Group Travel
Museum Passes
Paris Museums
Paris River Cruises
Paris Day Tours
Schools / Universities
Shopping Boutiques
Shopping FR Stores
Statue of Liberty
Transportation- All
Travel by Land Tour
Travel Assistance
Travel England
Travel Ireland
Travel Italy
Travel Scotland
Travel Spain
Travel Essentials
Travel FR Mini Pkgs.
Travel Insurance
Travel Guides/Books
FREE Travel Articles
FREE Brochures
Region of Limousin Département Information 

The D
èpartements of Limousin

The département of Corrèze is located on the western border of the Massif Central, in the southern part of Limousin.  It is bounded by the départements of Creuse in the north, Cantal and Puy-de-Dôme, in Auvergne, on the east, Lot, in the region of Midi-Pyrénées, to the south and Dordogne and Haute-Vienne [Limousin] on the west.  In 1790, Corrèze was formed from the old province of Limousin.  The Dordogne River flows through the département.  Tulle is the capital. 

The Département of Creuse is located on the northwestern border of the Massif Central, and occupies much of the Creuse River basin.  The ground, in the southeast of the département, rises to more than 3000 feet.  The Creuse département is bounded by the départements of Indre and Cher on the north, Allier and Puy-du-D
ôme on the east, Corrèze to the south, and Haute-Vienne on the west.

Creuse was formed, with Guéret as the capital, in 1790 from the old provinces of Marche [a province prior to the French Revolution], plus northern Haute-Vienne and a piece of Indre, Berry [a former province in central France; its capital was Bourges], Bourbonnais [another old province in central France], Auvergne, Poitou, and Limousin. 

The area is well known for its stockbreeding of the Limousin cattle.  Cereals, chestnuts and potatoes are grown.  Industry is poorly developed and scattered and consists of food processing, metal production, mining, quarrying and spinning.  

The Département of Haute-Vienne is located in the western part of Limousin, on the northwestern slopes of the Massif Central.  It was carved principally from the old province of Marche with samplings of the provinces of Berry, Limousin and Poitou.  The département’s north is separated from the south by the westward-flowing Vienne River.  The Vienne River traverses the rolling uplands of Limousin before joining the Maulde and Taurion rivers.  It then flows through Limoges. 


Limousin Hotels




 A to Z Info Sites
 A - L
 M - Z
 Links to Dépts-Towns

Home  / All Travel Options View Culinary Programs Europe Land Tour Options Paris Airport Transfers All Cruise Options
Contact Us Group Travel Travel Insurance Train Schedules Europe    Barge Cruise or  River Cruise

 © Copyright 1999 - 2012 by Sharon Atchley.  All rights reserved.  Updated:  02/01/2014